h1

What crap am I watching now?

July 23, 2013

Well it’s not actually crap this time – definitely way more legit than British reality programmes.

I just got done with Season 1 of Orange is the New Black available only on Netflix.

orange

I first heard of this show listening to The Moth podcast where Piper Kerman was telling a charming story about her 15 month-ish stay in prison.  At the end there was the usual plug, “Piper Kerman is the author of Orange is the New Black.”  So when I logged into Netflix and saw a series was made out of it my first thought was,” How many seasons can they get out of this?” Otherwise known in my mind as the Lost Syndrome.

I was happy to see actors that I loved – Laura Prepon from That 70′s show, Natasha Lyonne, Jason Biggs, Taryn Manning. Oh and of course there’s creator credit belonging to Jenji Kohan of Weeds fame. 

The story is of Piper Chapman who is being sent to prison because she carried a suitcase full of drug money for an now ex-girlfriend. In the ensuing years she has met a nice boy and gotten engaged. The WASP goes to jail – misadventures ensue.  Most of the season I loved – the adventures of Piper are interwoven with the back stories of her fellow prisoners making for great characters that are not always what they seem.  As it got toward the end of the season Piper becomes a bit unsympathetic and, though I tend to love the anti-hero type shows, I was left wondering if I was even rooting for her anymore.  There was the obligatory cliff hanger so I guess I’ll be back because I’m a sucker for that set-up but I can’t help but wonder where the evolution of Piper is going from here.

One comment

  1. I thought the last scene of the season was absolutely fantastic. I was hoping she would have to fight back and become all animalistic instead of approaching prison from a higher thought process. Jenji Kohan delivers again!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

